Start a new topic

Event Import from excel with (unidentified) constituent and non-constituent details

Hi, I have a number of guest lists that have been supplied to me in excel format that I am thinking I should be able to use ImportOmaticto be able to bring into The Raiser's Edge Events Module.
The issue I have is some are and some are not constituents. Unfortunately this is not identified on the excel spreadsheet (noted to fix for future imports). I also have limited information but I do have First Name, Surname and email address.
Will running the import twice (with a modified profile on the second pass) address this? I am thinking I get the first "pass" to look for duplicates but not create new (which will cause an exception) and then modify the exceptions file to identify they are not a constituent and run again.
I am relatively new at all of this and would appreciate some advice if I am on the right track or way off base (or if there is an easier wayto do this!) Thanks in advance

Hi Karen,

Yes, you will import the file twice - the first time you're matching to existing constituents and the second time you're importing your new participants as non-constituents. This forum post describes how you will import your file.

Step two in the above link is referring to a column you'll need for the second pass, where you have a value of "no" mapped to Record Type = Participant Field and Value Type = Participant is a Constituent - this will import the participants as non-constituents.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Thank you,
Amanda
Omatic Support

Fantastic! Thank you - I tried (obviously unsuccessfully) to locate a previous post as I was sure it would have been asked.
Thank you as well for you speedy response!