Start a new topic

Creating Dictionaries Using Regular Expressions

I was very excited to see the recent option to use regular expression with dictionaries in Import-O-Matic.  We strive to keep strict formatting standards on addresses in The Raiser's Edge and would spend quite a bit of time "manually" making changes to addresses in our import file.

I'm a novice with regular expressions but have found it really worth the time to build our address dictionaries.  Below are some screen shots of a few of them.  I'm wondering if other users would be willing to share some of their dictionaries?  Especially if you have written more complicated and/or efficient expressions.

Hi Julie,

This is great work! We're excited to see people using the Regular Expression functionality in IOM. Here are a few of my favorites (though we highly recommend that each organization evaluate RegEx formulas to make sure they are a good fit. These are provided as examples only, with no warranty that they're a good fit for any particular purpose!).

This one is great if you ever have Excel eating leading zeros on ZIP codes:

Here's one that converts "St" or "St." to "Street", but only when the "St" is at the end of a string or followed by a comma [here's the formula: "(?i)(?

Finally, here are some PO Box cleanup formulas:

Those are "^POB(?= )|^P.O.B." and "^P.O. Box".

I hope to hear from some other users on what formulas they've developed!

-Jeff
I have also found the RegEx formulas to be very helpful. They save us a great deal of time by eliminating the need to clean up addresses before import. I am adding more formulas as we come across new things that need to be handled, but wanted to offer some of the ones I have worked on so far.

I added the Street formula that Jeff lists above because I like the way it handles addresses with a ‘saint’ in them by not replacing the St. for saint, but replacing it for street.