Start a new topic

How to Determine if an Address is Preferred During Importing Process

Good evening, 

I am new to Raiser's Edge and Importomatic. I would like to ensure that the preferred address for a constituent does not get overwritten during an import. For instance, we are importing addresses of type "Home" from Banner. If a constituent has a preferred address which is a "Business" address in RE, we would like this address to remain as preferred. 

I was able to achieve the above through use of a virtual field. However, if a constituent has a "Home" address that is preferred, then the new "Home" address that is imported should become preferred; currently, that is not the case for this test scenario, as the Preferred virtual field is set to No. I was looking to use the API to accomplish this with some additional coding, but I would need to be able to read the RE data first before determining the value for the preferred flag for the incoming address.  I am open to all solutions. 

Your assistance is greatly appreciated. 

Thank you. 

Best,

Tiffany

Hi Tiffany,

Yes, I would think you could use the IOM API when the existing constituent record is identified to determine whether or not you wanted to set the Preferred flag on the incoming address to true. If you wanted to take a stab at the code we'll be glad to help you along way.

Thanks,
Jeff
Thank you, Jeff.

I reviewed the API manual and have the following coding. I do, however, need some assistance with the syntax for the RE field:

If Export.Fields.GetByExcelName("J").Value = "Home" And CONSTIT_ADDRESS("Preferred").Value = "-1"
Then
Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AT").Value = "yes"

Else Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AT").Value = "no"

End If

That is the logic I think I would need to use.