Start a new topic

Importing/matching records based on attribute value

I'm  trying to do something probably very similar to what Geraldo did in this thread
https://www.omaticsoftware.com/Foru...fault.aspx

I'm a seasoned programmer, but very new to IOM and especially its API.  Looks very promissing though. 

Basically what I'm trying to do is almost exactly the same thing.  We get some gift data from an online source, but would like to match those gifts with existing constituents in RE.   This data doesn't have a constituent ID or Import ID, only the outside system id.
We store the "outside system" ID of these donors in an attribute for each donor.  PM-COIN ID

I'm attempting to do the same thing where I have a query in RE that pulls all these COIN IDs (outside ID) from the attributes, along with the constituent IDs and last names) and places them into array, which should then be used by IOM to do the matching.   

I modified the code he presented in his thread, but I feel like I might be missing something. 
I think I'm supposed to assign those array fields to virtual fields,  and that's where I need some major handholding.

here's what I have:

Public Overrides Sub BeforeImport(ByVal Cancel As ImportOM.API.iCancel)
  'Import has not been started yet
  Dim oQuery As New BBREAPI.CQueryObject
  Dim queryLength As Long

oQuery.Init(Import.SessionContext)
  oQuery.LoadByField(2,"COIN Import IDs")
  oQuery.QuerySet.OpenQuerySet

queryLength = oQuery.QuerySet.NumberOfRecords
  Dim queryArray(queryLength,2) As String
  RECOINIDs = queryArray

Do While Not oQuery.QuerySet.EOF
  RECOINIDs(oQuery.QuerySet.RowNum, 0) = oQuery.QuerySet.fieldValue(1) 'Constituent Specific Attributes PM-COIN ID Description
  RECOINIDs(oQuery.QuerySet.RowNum, 1) = oQuery.QuerySet.fieldValue(2) 'Last Name
  RECOINIDs(oQuery.QuerySet.RowNum, 2) = oQuery.QuerySet.fieldValue(3) 'Constituent Import ID
  oQuery.QuerySet.MoveNext
  Loop

oQuery.QuerySet.CloseDown
 End Sub

Hi Paul,