Start a new topic

Changing a virtual field based on date constituent is added

Hi,

I am new to the API and I am trying to change a virtual field that I have mapping to the Acknowledged field.  I want it to change to Not Acknowledged if the constituent record is added to today.  

Can someone help with this code.  

Hi Marie,

This is from a while ago but I just saw it now.

If you are in AfterConstituentOpen you can use oRec.Fields(Blackbaud.PIA.RE7.BBREAPI.ERECORDSFields.RECORDS_fld_DATE_ADDED) to get the date the record was added.

I hope that helps!
Thank you.
How timely - I was just looking to find out how to do this! The only difference is that I want to vary the gift's Campaign ID, but hopefully the principle is the same.

Wayne (or anyone else who knows how!) - would you mind giving an example of how this would look?

oRec.Fields(Blackbaud.PIA.RE7.BBREAPI.ERECORDSFields.RECORDS_fld_DATE_ADDED) .... I assume this be wrapped in some kind of IF statement? How do you say "if it equals today's date (the system date)"?

Also, I can't see a section called AfterConstituentOpen in my profile's code editor...is there another place I could put the code, such as BeforeDictionaries, AfterDictionaries or BeforeGiftSave (or somewhere else? Or maybe I am looking in the wrong place)?

Thank you so much - I would be really grateful if you can spare the time to reply!

Have a lovely day.
For AfterConstituentOpen you have to add it. Just type "Public Overrides" in the editor and a list will come up and you can select AfterConstituentOpen. Then you already have the correct constituent record and you can mess with it before anything is saved!

For the date comparison I think you can do:
If oRec.Fields(Blackbaud.PIA.RE7.BBREAPI.ERECORDSFields.RECORDS_fld_DATE_ADDED) = DateTime.Today.ToString("d") Then
'Set the Campaign ID field
End If

1 person likes this
Hi Wayne,

Thanks for your reply! You always seem to know the answer! :-)